Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Svetlana Kim arrived in New York in 1991 speaking no English, with only a dollar in her pocket. With the help of a good Samaritan, she traveled by bus to California, hoping to connect with an acquaintance from home. Yet, when she mistakenly disembarks in San Francisco instead of Sacramento, she finds herself penniless, homeless and alone.

What unfolds is a miraculous story of survival as Svetlana encounters kind strangers as she struggles to cobble together a meager existence working as a cleaning lady. Determined to succeed, she lands a job selling cosmetics. Within a few years, her hard work carries her up the corporate ladder. She earns American citizenship after living ten years as a political refugee, and pursues the opportunity to fulfill her dreams and great opportunities ultimately becoming an awarding winning author of White Pearl and I and radio show host!

Photo: Reading my diary dated Oct. 15, 1991. I feel that I am just about to make a biggest decision in my life...<br /> My intuition was right. </p> <p>I left for NYC with $1 in my pocket and one word of English, "Hi!" </p> <p>The rest is history.

Svetlana’s diary dated Oct. 15, 1991. I feel that I am just about to make a biggest decision in my life…Her intuition was right. She left for NYC from Russia with $1 in her pocket and one word of English, “Hi!”

In honor of Svetlana and the anniversary of there incredible journey to America we are sharing our 10 segment interview we conducted with Svetlana. Each segment is short so you can capture the interview as you are able to set aside time to listen to her amazing story.

S1 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S2 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S3 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S4 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S5 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S6 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S7 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S8 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S9 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim

S10 Success in the City May, with Svetlana Kim


You can learn more about Svetlana Kim here!

 

