Every time I go to a different city, I want to shop. Off-the-beaten path items that are unique, boutiques with items that you can’t find anywhere else, gets me every time. Truthfully, I think I like saying, ‘I got this in New York,’ ‘Oh this, a little something I picked up in LA.’

Last weekend I was in Boston, shopping for my best friend’s upcoming wedding. The adorable little shops on Charles Street at the foot of Beacon Hill, were divine. I’d been on Newbury Street plenty of times but had never spent the time in Beacon Hill. I loved it.

An article discussed the results of a recent survey revealing that shopping is one of the top reasons people visit Boston, even above sightseeing and museums. I can see why. Still, I sought the Top 10 Places for Shopaholics. According to MSNBC.com, LA, New York, Paris, London, Bangkok, Marrakesh and Hong Kong were a few.

I think my favorite shopping city is New York. It’s a shopping experience. Here at home, it’s Georgetown, for the exact same reason. The boutiques that are hidden off M Street, as well as the designer stores, have a certain feel to it. It’s not just going shopping, it’s the experience of shopping.

Where is that place for you? 

__________________________________________________

Michele Capots has been writing for various newspapers and magazines for the last 10 years. Her favorite color is purple. Currently, she works in public relations for Livingston Communications. Be sure to also check her out in the Buzz Bin.

