Music is a funny thing. The memories it stirs.

Last Saturday, my significant other and I went to The Birchmere to see my favorite band perform, The Clarks. Scott Blasey, the lead singer, who just came out with his own solo album, was performing as the opening act.

I’ve been following this band since my early 20s when I used to go see them in
Pittsburgh. Back then, I’d be up front dancing my heart out. Fifteen years later, I was up front dancing my heart out.

On this particular night, they played a lot of old school songs, songs that reminded me of where I came from. I was less responsible then, more carefree. Each lyric was reminding me of the person I used to be.

The band has changed over the years. They’ve gotten married, had children, solo releases. And their music has become more mature. But dancing at The Birchmere last weekend, for those two hours, it felt like no time had passed at all.

____________________________________________________________________________

Michele Capots has been writing for various newspapers and magazines for the last 10 years. Her favorite color is purple. Currently, she works in public relations for Livingston Communications. Be sure to also check her out in the Buzz Bin.

